Keeping up with the Jones

20537_1202269862403_1398295056_30508997_2215306_n

Some days, I hate social media.  It is both the greatest tool and worst thing…

People are so easily offended by someone else’s comments it’s almost nauseating. With this, others go out of their way to offend those who don’t hold their beliefs or try to ram their absolute stupidity down another’s throat. It’s ridiculous and sad what a society we have become.  Social media has become our own personal soap box to stand on and scream our ridiculous beliefs, views, opinions and believe that we are entitled to have everyone listen to us.
We’ve become so socially awkward that 80% of our interactions with others are on the other side of a computer screen or smart phone.

People blast their ex on social media. They judge their relationship or success in life off what others post, or claim about their own lives.  Too many base their status as a competitor or athlete on where they stand based on what their competition posted, the weight they moved, lifted, PR’ed. We portray such ridiculously false images it’s beyond sad.

I have pulled back and rarely post anything personal anymore… It’s mainly been just things I find funny or my training; and even now I’m tired of hearing others comments and am finding myself pulling back even farther. I have lost count how many times I have wanted to fire back with some nasty smartass comment at one posted. It’s useless. I should just disable comments. Half the things I post are not for others, even though it is out there on social media. The posts are for me, tracking myself, a public way of holding myself accountable. My thoughts mumbled out loud. I’ve lost count of how many times I have gone back and deleted entire facebook posts, tweets… even IG posts just because one stupid comment pushed the envelope, and to keep myself from firing off, I just delete the entire opportunity.

This is my social presence -my training and my dogs. Not my love life, not my social life, not my professional life. Frankly I don’t care what you think… I train too much, I post too many pics of my dogs –guess what, they’re my kids. I’m proud of my furbabies, you don’t like it or approve? STFU and keep scrolling. I refrain from vocalizing or post these reply comments. I keep scrolling.  Maybe I should stop scrolling and start firing back.  You feel so self entitled to make comments and judge my life off the little I post on social media, maybe I should return the favor.  This is my life and it varies drastically from yours. Who cares if my version of socializing is at the gym between sets on a Friday night?  This is what makes us individuals… You don’t like my now reddish-purple hair?  I really don’t care, it’s not your hair, it’s mine.  What gives you such a god-entitled right to send me a private message an say so?  Are you my boss, my mother?  No.  Guess what, your opinion means nothing to me.

Some people publicize so much anger and hatred towards another human being; I genuinely wonder if there is anything you love about yourselves… Your outward anger IS an inner reflection of you. Ever heard the saying “what we don’t like about ourselves is what we hate in others.”

image

Last weekend, I logged off facebook, deleted the messenger app from my phone. It was two days of peace… I know in the past I have allowed other postings to influence my mood, but those two days it dawned on me just how much. I understand why several friends randomly delete their facebook accounts for months on end. Others completely delete IG accounts just to “unplug” and take a break. We spend so much time plugged into to other people’s attitudes and anger and it affects you whether you believe it or not…

96dc8fbe84081f8e21c28a87fe24bbaa

-Inked Amazon Warrior
💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

