A Watched Pot Never Boils

While making a cup of tea I started to become impatient waiting for the water to boil. I kept touching the handle of the kettle, looking for the familiar vibration of the water beginning to boil….

It’s been a long two weeks, the change in weather has affected me more than I expected. But the drop in temperatures and loss of sunlight does this every year, I just forget –as I do every year, just how rough it can be on my body. Battling a three day headache has also taken a toll on me and the familiar sensation of nausea and exhaustion has taxed me, leaving me edgy and a bit grumpy.

This past week’s training was lighter in weight, higher in reps… So a bit easier and I was grateful for this. But factor in at FIT test for work and by Thursday night after deadlifts I was just done. Tired.  However I realized I’m no longer counting down weeks until my next competition like I did the beginning of the year. Instead, I log my training, report back to my coach and just go with it. Meaning, I refuse to let my head say he has programmed too much or too heavy. It’s not, every day I walk out of the gym feeling like it was just right, like your first cup of coffee, just perfect. Don’t get me wrong, some reps are a harder fight than others, some training days are rougher than others. Some I am giving myself pep talks…Which anyone who knows me, knows this means I am yelling at myself, sometimes, a lot. After most training days, I send my coach a text message anything from I hate you for…. To numbers I am proud I hit and video of the lifts. His response help reaffirm that I am moving forward and unknown to him, help keep my head in check over the bigger picture.

Yesterday I went and met with several other gym buddies to watch a local powerlifting meet, supporting our fellow gym athletes and even the two gym owners were competing. It was pretty impressive to see so many from our gym; for several this was their first powerlifting competition. Several times in discussion it came up, the question I have come to dread… “What are your numbers?” Meaning, what is my max squat, dead and bench (if it is a powerlifter asking) or overhead (if it is a strongman competitior). My answer is always the same, “I have no idea, I haven’t gone for a PR or 1 rep max in quite some time.” There is a lot of truth to this… October 2014 was the last time I went into the gym with the intention of pulling a PR on deadlift. December 2014 was the last time I went after a 1 rep squat max and just kept increasing my weight until I knew that was it. I’ve never aimed for a bench max, so I could only figure or guess based off what I use to do in set –use to, because let’s face it, in strongman, who dafuq care about bench press. Overhead, again… April 2015 was the last time I aimed for an overhead max; and even that I over shot the weight in a competition, going for what I was scared to clean versus what I could have successfully put overhead -lesson learned, the clean happened, the overhead didn’t.

Then there are the days I question if the weights are heavy enough, if the reps are high enough; but without fail by the end of the week I’m feeling it. I’m ready for a two day rest. Earlier this week, my coach published a short article. (article here) Reading it, I did not feel like I was being pegged, but it was a good reminder to trust the process. I tell my other girlfriends this when they are doubting their own training or the nerves are starting to catch up to them…just trust the process, trust your training… But who says this to me? I do, I remind myself to let go and trust the process. This article was a reminder, a good reminder. I am hitting heavier weights in reps than I was hitting in singles before Brandon (my coach), in both back squat and deadlifts. I do trust him. I trust his plan, it just takes time.

Like watching water boil.

I need to learn to walk away from the stove and let the burner do it’s job. The water will come to a boil, I will have my tea and the stove top water boiling is always more rewarding than the microwave. While I do long for the instant gratification of a current PR, I know I am leaps and bounds ahead of where I was a year ago, even 3 months ago.

do your squats2

-Inked Amazon Warrior
💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

