Strongwomen and Competitions

December…. Where to start? *laughing*

December 5th was my competition.  While I had some concerns leading into the competition; I learned the lesson of competing while nursing an slight injury, no matter how light the competition, it’s not easy. 11219641_10153809255225879_1420116679539338147_n As I posted on facebook after the competition itself, I would be lying if I said that I was anything but disappointed in my preformance; however several factors I have to take into account and as my friend Brandi reminded me, I have to remember how far I have come in barely one year.

Wow…has it really only been one year of training? Not even a full year of competing and I am sometimes holding myself to such unbelievably high standards and expectations; that like that competition, when I fall short I am beyond disappointed in myself.

All of that aside, it was a good competition put on by Drew Whitted at Be Strong in Normal, Illinois; called Be Strong for the Holidays III.   A holiday fundraiser for local families, all athletes were asked to bring an unwrapped gift for a child under the age of 12.  In my opinion there is no better reason to pick a competition than a charitable event.  It was a very fast paced competition, something I was not expecting for the 55+ (I believe) competitors.

If you are anywhere near this gym, I would be on the lookout next year for this show.  Traveling out of my area for this show, my fellow competitors were very welcoming and I had a good time.

12360200_10153809259015879_6518479583646202960_n

The competition photos from Be Strong For The Holidays III is courtesy of Veronica Whitted Fields

 

Yesterday, December 12th was Jul Valkyrie in Detroit.  A women’s only strongman competition sanctioned by United States Strongman.  The winners qualified for USS Nationals June 11th in Kentucky and a women’s world pro-show in October.

Watching all of my dear friend Brandi’s hard work come together in such a thing of beauty, was indescribable yesterday.  I cannot even describe how proud I am of her for such an impressive show. Knowing a lot of what she went through to make Jul Valkyrie happen and to see all the amazing responses from so many women who participated. Watching family members observe their loved one while she competed in her first strongman competition, watching a teary-eyed father as his 16 year old daughter when head to head against women much older to even twice her age….

To witness my two dear friends Brogan and Jessica step onto the strongman competition floor with confidence.  To witness them realize how strong and amazing they are as they tackled each lift… Some times realizing they under estimated their abilities and factored a weight to low.  Or their brilliant smiles as they utterly destroyed their stone over bar, flying through the lift like seasoned athletes!  My heart beamed with such pride knowing all the hard work, bruises, frustrations and sometimes tears these two amazing women went through during training.  The drive home, wasn’t talk of just how fun it was, but of the work they have ahead so that they can become a stronger athlete and a better competitor.  I can’t help but laugh at the genuine disappointed looks I received from both gals when I told them they had to stay out of the gym until the earliest of next weekend.

Watching these battling beauties… Watching how one woman would take her turn at the lift, only to turn around and scream her head off to cheer on her competition… This is just one of the many reasons I love strongman and the women I compete with and against.  We are from all walks of life, all professions, all ages, but we are a tribe.

My heart overflows.

screenshot_2015-12-13-17-14-23-1.png

 

 

-Inked Amazon Warrior
💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

