Two Weeks Left. . .

I initially was going to try and keep kind of a journal of training… sort of.  Anyway, I haven’t written much of anything.  I guess, I just thought the weeks would all start to sound the same.  The first couple of weeks went very well, soreness was low…that is after getting past the initial week off deload -that is always the worst!  Now, I have slid into the downward phase of training in contest prep.  I’m at that mentally grueling point, it is just as important as the beginning, but my body is feeling it.

Ten weeks in, I’m feeling it all today.  This past week for one reason or another was especially grueling.  Yesterday’s farmers might have had something to do with it… 3 picks, 50ft, hold 5 seconds.  The picks were the worst part.  I drug a fingernail up my pant leg a time or four –time to cut them off again, didn’t think they had grown that much, could of sworn it was only a week or two ago I chopped ’em down to nothing.  Of course, Brandon has changed up the routine, like he always does about every 2-3 weeks.  He has thrown a few curve balls at me…lemme just say parallel squats for mass reps after hitting a max weight, is seriously kicking my ass!img_20160216_202822.jpg

I think my pibble puppy Grimm is sensing my physical drain too.  When I’m home, he doesn’t leave my side…even now, trying to type he is trying to lick my fingers and face.

The past two training days, I sent out snap chats how I was looking for motivation, because all I want to do is crawl into bed and sleep.  Energy drinks and pre-workout are not even touching this anymore.  Heck, this morning I woke up at the normal 7am, took the dogs outside and fed them breakfast, then crawled back into bed til 10.  I’m feeling a nap already creeping up.  Coffee isn’t cutting it this morning…
Speaking of coffee!  I started mixing protein powder in my first morning cup.  Chocolate cake batter with coffee…oh.my.god. It’s heaven!!  I need a refill, lol.
So I am full of random babble this morning….

Ok, back on track. 
Training. 
Brandon also programmed 6″ block pulls on deadlift this week.  I’ll admit, I was a little concerned by the weight he wanted to see.  These have not always been a strong lift for me, in fact as weird as it sounds I feel stronger from the floor.  Weight that I should not be struggling with on a block (any height) seems to kick my ass, while I can easily pull that same weight from the floor.  So I simply told myself warm up, then just start making weight jumps until you hit either a weight that you know you can pull all three reps in a couple sets.  I was happy to end the last set, ten pounds over what Brandon had said he wanted to see.

It always makes me happy to send my weekly feed back with higher numbers when he writes “get heavy” or to make notes how the programmed reps were under the time he wanted. I definitely see his weekly program as a challenge, both mentally and physically.  Most the time, I’ll admit, it’s in my damn head… but this is just another part of strongman that I love so much. The mental challenge of getting under heavy weight, weight you are not sure you can move… weight that is mentally fucking with you and then successfully completing the lift.

screenshot_2016-02-11-19-21-46.png

It probably started two weeks ago… I was talking with another fellow strongwoman competitor; she mentioned she is fine about the upcoming competition…until someone asks her if she is ready or how she feels about it.  She said she has not allowed herself to think about how fast it is closing, just focused on training.  I told her I do the same.  Then the feeling hit, like a high speed curve ball…thinking about one of the lifts, the rush of excitement mixed with nerves, mixed with have I done enough?  Am I doing enough? Anyone who competes in strongman knows the feeling I am talking about.  Your heart beats a little faster, there is a small rush that comes with it…which is nothing like the rush you’ll feel on the competition floor when the time comes to put up or shut up.  I have to actively force the thought, the idea from my head.  Not allowing myself to think about it and just focus on the here and now.

In the end, it’s just me and the weights.  My friends can say want they want, give me atta boys, or social media posts… it’s all training.  What is going to matter is what happens on the competition floor.  You can post all the gym PRs in the world, they mean nothing.  It’s what happens when the pressure is on.  It shows who has just been running their mouth bragging about what they can do in the gym when no one is watching -hell that’s the easy part.  But what can you do when there is a crowd of strangers?  When the equipment is not what you’ve been training on. When the temperature is too hot or too cold for your liking.  When it isn’t your favorite playlist playing on the speakers.  When the lighting is different…. None of that matters.  In the end, it’s just excuses.

 

Am I brave enough?
Am I strong enough?
To follow the desire
That burns from within
To push away my fear
To stand where I’m afraid
I am through with this
‘Cause I am more than this
I promise to myself
Alone and no one else

-Inked Amazon Warrior
💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

