If a picture is worth a thousand words

12717142_1525874034372804_1437322157_n

 

I love this still of this past week’s log work… The body posture says so much, the day I was having at work, trying to get my mind right for training, trying to force my body in line with what I was telling it to do….the thoughts racing through my head. Time coming to a close, how fast the Motor City Strongman competition is coming. The standard thoughts, the nerves, the excitement. 

Re set. 

Refocus. 

The last week of training is about to start. It’s exciting and draining. I am looking forward to a week of deload, to carb loading the night before, the drive out and the actual competition. Hell. This is why I train this way, everything is geared towards the competition. All the hours spent in the gym, meal prep, countless Epsom salt baths and regular nights falling into bed exhausted then crawling out stiff and sore. 

Truth is, just a few days into deload and I am miss my regular training days. I miss the bruises, the mental fight, the raw hands and the burning sensation in my muscles. 

Going into my second year of strongman competitions, I feel a more in control of the withdrawals from training. In general I feel more in control and less like a five year old seeking too much at one time. My coach Brandon has definitely helped keep me in line and my buddy Brandi has helped keep me outta my head. 

I’ve already started making a list of things to accomplish on this round of deload. Ordered some new movies off Amazon and packed the house with chicken. It’s gonna be a good week. 

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

