Where do I go from here?

An achievement is bondage.  It obliges one to a higher achievement.

Holy. Shit.

Two days to my next competition and this little FitQuote popped up on my iPhone and hit the nail on the HEAD!! This quote is exactly how I have felt… Since winning the United States Strongman Nationals last year; I have felt like people have held me to such a performance standard, that at times it has freaked me out, embarrassed me and even made me want to crawl inside my own skin and hide.  Despite my loud presences, I am not one to seek out a spotlight.  However since Nats, I can no longer just blend in with the other competitors.

How do you scrub the unwanted (extra) attention from your head? Don’t get me wrong as soon as I step up to an implement nothing else matters but that…it’s leading into it the lift, the ten to even two crucial minutes before. In fact my last competition, stepping up to my nemesis-the circus dumbbell. The the promoter told the crowd about Nats. I’m pretty sure I instantly went six shades of red and I did flip him off without thinking about little kids around me.  I know he wasn’t meaning to embarrass me or anything but congratulate me, but, well… I guess you could say I don’t handle unexpected attention very well.

Which I don’t.

At all.

This quote is only made even more perfect by pairing it with the last picture of training before the MotorCity Strongest Competition.

 

The log and I have had a love hate relationship. Considering this was a frustrating and ugly fight at Nationals, ultimately resulting in a zero. I’m feeling more confident with the mass amount of work my coach has had me putting into overhead press work. However, much like any other strength athlete, no matter how far I have come or how much work I have put in, it never feels enough. What I still see is 2015 Nationals, I still have to conqueror THAT log.

United States Strongman Nationals June27th, 2015

So now, it isn’t about the next win…let me rephrase that.  Anyone who goes to a competition, if they say they don’t want to win, they are lying.  Of course I want to win, the goal is to win.  However, with that.  A main focus is conquering and beating, not only in my head but on the competition floor THAT log….. and this Saturday is only a warm-up round.

 

-Inked Amazon Warrior
💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

