Another year

Yesterday, someone posted on my facebook, “gefeliciteerd.” Facebook said the translation was, congratulations. A friend screen shot and sent it to me in text message.  We chuckled.
“Like congrats, you made it to another birthday!”
“Like.  Hey congratulations you didn’t die in the last 364 days “

The truth is… That is exactly it.  You survived.  You made it another year.  While most people dread another birthday, or at least by the time you hit your thirties and into your late thirties.  I’ll admit it, on the phone with my dad Friday night, I told him I wasn’t embracing thirty-seven the way I had taken to thirty-five or thirty-six.  But now thinking about that random post… Yea, I’m embracing it with open arms.

Do not regret growing older. It is a privilege denied to many.

I am fortunate, to live another year, and not only in my chosen profession; but I am healthy, I am strong.  I am training for my second United States Strongman Nationals.  I have family that loves me, even though we are separated by half a globe sometimes, I still hear from them.  I have friends, some very amazing and steadfast friends; and a my tribe of fellow strongwomen, that I would not trade a one of them for all the treasures of the world…because to me, these friendships are worth more than any physical possession.

People post on social media some random picture then hashtag it “blessed.”  No judgment, but sometimes I wonder do you really believe it?  A small few, I know do.  They have survived some serious setbacks in life to come out stronger on the other end.  But too many it seems just to be another tag to get more likes on their post.  Thinking of this past year, I know I am truly blessed.  It was a good year and I am looking forward God willing to many more.

I wont say my life is free of hardships.  I had my up and downs.  Good days and bad days, but who hasn’t?  Last year I spent thirty-six at some bar/club, chosen by friends.  It was a decent night, but anyone who knows me, knows club scenes are not my thing.  Maybe this is my way of growing older… I’ve long since lost the urge to spend a birthday celebrated with alcohol.  Instead.  Yesterday I took place in a charity fundraiser, pulling a firetruck. While it was only a couple hours of my morning, this is how I’d rather spend my weekend…. The evening was spent curled up finishing a book.  Maybe today I’ll treat myself to a new pair of jeans that actually fit.

 

-Inked Amazon Warrior
💋💀

 

A very good friend of mine
Told me something the other day
I’d like to pass it on to you,
‘Cause I believe what he said to be true
He said:
We’re here for a good time
Not a long time (Not a long time)
So have a good time
The sun can’t shine everyday
And the sun is shinin’,
In this rainy city,
And the sun is shinin’,
Ooh, isn’t a pity?
That every year
Has its share of tears,
Every now and then
It’s gotta rain
We’re here for a good time
Not a long time
So have a good time
The sun can’t shine everyday
Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

