1:35

It’s one thirty-five pm, I swear three hours ago it was one thirty.  It’s Monday and this day is draggggggging….dragging me to my death.  feet_out_cubicle_smaller

The wallpaper on my work station desktop is a randomly shuffling colleague of pictures I have either taken or mostly collected off the internet, beautiful scenic nature scenes.  I’m dying in this cubical.  The overhead hallogen bulbs buzz their godawful annoying hum and I inwardly groan its only Monday.  Some where the random rhythm of doors opening and closing continues the draining beat of a Monday back to work after a good weekend.  A desk line rings at a desk, offset by a cell phone on the opposite side of the room.  In the distance a fire truck can be heard blaring down the city streets, sirens wailing in attempts at moving the late lunch traffic.
Is it 5pm yet?  Is it Friday at 5pm yet?!?

My adventure soul sister, my valkyrie sister text messaged me earlier asking if I was working Friday.  Its Labor Day weekend and she’s already plotted a 4-day.  Before responding to her, I had already wanted to take Friday off and I am in my supervisor’s office asking how the schedule is looking.  He tells me he isn’t sure, but as long as it isn’t bad I can have the day.  Bee wants to get in a new hike and so do I.  It doesn’t matter that I just did a solo hike Friday for a 7.5 mile day.  I want to go explore a new trail.

Sorting through the weekend’s emails, personal, I come across several… from REI and Cotopaxi, talking about end of summer sales.  STOP IT!! woman-cubicle-296x300 Another email from Cairn, talking about the end of summer and making the most of it as fast as possible.  Cramming things in after work and just taking the weekend and going, anywhere but somewhere.  I kind of what to whimper a little more.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not feel like I have wasted this summer like years pasts.  I do feel like I have put quiet a summer in, but still I am not ready for it to come to an end just yet.  Hell the doors have been on my Jeep the past month because I was too concerned I would aggravate the slip disk injury in my neck by pulling them back off… Of course the absolute down pouring rain the past three weekends didn’t encourage me to pull them either.  However, checking the week’s forecast, yesterday, the week looked free of rain averaging high 70s to low 80s during the day and cooling off into the high 50s at night.

High fifties at night….

I have mixed emotions about this.   Lower southwest Michigan hasn’t seen temperatures in the fifties since May.  Then again, it snowed on my birthday this year, May 15th.  It’s not like Michigan weather is super reliable, in fact we have had one hell of a blazing hot summer this year, and I have absolutely loved it.  Of course Farmer’s Almanac says we are going to pay for it this winter; with a colder and more snow than average winter.  Great, considering the winter of 2013/14 we had 130″ of unmelted snow on the ground in the city… Yeah, in the city.  My driveway had six foot high piles of snow, I couldn’t see up or down my street to back out of my own driveway.  So needless to say this winter should be fun.  I’m definitely buying the snow shoes.

cubicle-2-full

I’m about to start spinning circles in my little aerodynamic desk chair.  I need to ditch these heels and suit for my hiking boots, shorts and day pack.  I want to hear the buzzing of bugs instead of halogen lights.  I want to hear the chirping of birds instead of the construction across the street on the new high-rise.  I want to hear the rustling of leafs in the wind, instead of the mechanical endless ringing of desk phones. My Jeep eagerly awaits downstairs in the underground parking garage, doorless with brand new 33s, waiting to find a muddy dirt road.  I just need….to….go.

cubicle

….but it’s only Monday.
A audible groan with a huff escapes my throat.

-Inked Amazon
💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

