I survived

A few weeks ago, a local yoga stuido offered a 10 classes for 100 bucks deal; a friend tags me in the advertisment on facebook.  We find out the classes never expire and can use them whenever.  Nice.  Ok.  Sounds good.  So I take the bait and buy.

First two attempts, I can’t make classes with my friend.  One day work runs late, I’m not feeling good; following week Grimm is sick and I’m to wrecked to leave him.  So last night, things finally come together and we make a 6pm “sweet heat” hot yoga class.

Changing before leaving the ofice, rushing across town in rush hour traffic, miss my turn into the strip mall… circle the block and take a deep breath after parking.  Looking through the light rain on my windshield at the Twisted Tree Yoga Studio.
No big deal right?  Except I am for the most part, totally out of my element.
I mean, I do yoga at home pretty much daily, for the past two months, several times a week since mid August.  So why am I nervous about walking into a yoga studio and joining a class….

My friend shows up, right as I am ready to head inside.  Inside, we sign in, put our stuff up and head into the room….which is already almost full.  Now I’m sandwiched inbetween two gals half my size and half my height.  I almost feel like I’m suppose to appoligize to them, I don’t.  I decided long ago, that I was done appoligizing for taking up space, no matter my level (or lack of) experience.  I’m here for the same reasons they are.

Ten minutes to class starting
I spread out my mat, as quietly as possible.  Set my block and water to the side in hopes I don’t kick it over later.  Then lay down in butterfly and just enjoy the heat of the room and my hip flexors opening up.  With my eyes closed, I can here shuffling around as more people come into the room.  The plastic sticky sound of mats unrolling.  I can already feel myself starting to sweat, five minutes into laying still.

The instructior walks in, introduces herself and the class begins.  Her voice is soft, yet fills the room, she moves around watching everyone.  I do not understand any of the yoga terminallogy she uses, but I know enough to move with the class.  Half way through I can feel my legs starting to shake.  The instructors continous reminders to focusing on your breathing; helps more than I would have thought.  Re directing my my focus, paying extra close attention to my breath, the holding the poses becomes a touch easier, my legs still shake, my shoulders are throbbing.  Did I mention the day before was heavy squats and heavy push presses? lol.  May or may not have been a good idea.  I’m dripping sweat onto my mat like someone is slowly pouring water over my head.  Before I know it the instructor is winding down the class, settling into the final 7-10 minutes of meditation. By the way, my friend was right about the cool towel with lavendar at the end of class, it’s absolute amazing feeling.

Leaving class, I am absolutely drenched.  The unseasonably warm November evening is still chill against my sweaty skin, but I feel amazing.  My quads are shot, my hip flexors feel every bit of the hour long class; my shoulders feel pretty good thou.

yogaThe following morning, I feel absolutely fablous and I’m already thinking about when I’m going to work the next hot yoga class into my schedule.

-Inked Amazon

 

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

