🎶 bicycle, my bicycle 🎶

Thanksgiving weekend has come to a close, my sister flew out early Sunday morning.  It was a weekend well spent, with a lazy Thanksgiving Day in pjs, movies a rotisserie chicken, pumpkin pie and wine.  Friday was not spent trying to catch sales, instead it was spent hiking in off and on rain with a little off roading in my Jeep, aka Lady Jaye.  Afterwards we grabbed a hot sandwich and soup, a shower then a late night movie.  Saturday, we decided to enjoy one of the local Mediterranean cafes for lunch, play in World Market and walk around a few other shops, just browsing, no actual shopping.  Thai food for dinner, some old movies out of a three dollar bin and just relaxing before getting up at four-thirty to drive her to the airport this morning.

After more sleep, a bunch of coffee on Sunday I set back to the task of working on the plant stand tables I keep in my bedroom, that double as end tables.  Then I turned my attention to the pile of t-shirts I have and have been sitting in a pile just collecting dust.  These are ‘participation’ t-shirts as I have dobbed them.  Shirts from competitions, a few Army PT shirts and a job in between.  We all have these shirts, in the bottom of a drawer or the back of the closet…. Instead of just getting rid of them, I am going to turn them into totes, produce bags for shopping.  I’m trying to get away from the standard plastic bag that every store uses.  1. I have about a bazillion of them stuffed inside each other in my house already. 2. I want to get completely away from being dependent on these bags at the store.  So I started prepping them, cutting off the sleeves, cutting out the collar and later this week, I will be digging out my sewing machine and stitching them together to create the bags.

With all this, my mind has been wandering since Ellie left… We had briefly discussed mountain biking, it’s not the first time, nor will it be the last.  Sadly, my bike, which is almost ten years old now and in much need of upgrade…so much, I should just replace it.  it is a 26 hardtail and I have wanted a 29’er for a long time.  Ellie has made a few small comments here and there how I should take mine in for the maintenance it needs… But I know it needs a new cassette, new brakes, cogs look like they could be replaced too, I’m sure the chain as well… Well, hell, what doesn’t need replacing?  The petals? The saddle?  The handle bars?!?

Surfing facebook, I was looking at my old mountain biking pictures, there’s not a lot, and a few comments.  I guess to a lot of people the idea of a grown adult riding through trees on a single track (about double your shoulder width) as fast as possible, up and down hills, over roots and rocks and trying not to wipe out and land yourself in the emergency room (which I have, several times); well that doesn’t seem to make a lot of sense to some.
Anyway, the last of the comments was 2011… damn …I haven’t been on my bike in 5 years?!?  Has it really been five years?! This actually makes me kind of sad.  I loved riding.

A couple of weeks ago, when I was out of town on a work trip, Grimm (my pittie) some how or another found my mountain biking helmet, tucked away, got it out and chewed it to oblivion.  Ok, so one piece that would have to be replaced.  Along with the fact I doubt half my baggies fit anymore…(laughing)….I’m a tad more muscular than I was 5-10 years ago, but I still have all of my gear.  The clothing is kept safely tucked away along with my shoes and other protective gear, in the back of my closet. But. I’m gonna also need a new rack, too long in an old garage and my old bike rack is toast. It just might be time this winter to buy a new bike, dust off the gear and get back to the trails after this winter’s snow ends.  I’m not big on riding in subzero freezing temperatures, staying warm is one hell of a trick and the riding…well, I did a little snow riding a few years back, once it gets over a few inches deep it just SUCKS…like riding through sand and a lot of it.

It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a few months.  Hell any time I’m hiking a trail also shared by mountain bikers I think about it.  My friend Bee, comments about how I’m definitely nuts to ride through some of the areas we’ve hiked, but that’s half the fun of it.  Talking with Ellie this past weekend has the idea of riding again back at the front of my brain.

I never seem to keep cheap hobbies… I did try crocheting a few years ago; I got bored, lol.

 
-Inked Amazon
💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

