quit whining

jnn8g

For godsake, shut up.

It’s mid December and the “new year, new me, nah I’m gonna be the same asshole” is already popping up; but that isn’t the one I roll my eyes at the most.  The memes talking about how horrible 2016 has been.

SERIOUSLY?!?!

Tell me, what did you actively do to make your year better?  Or did you just let a bad year happen to you?  Wait, grab your helmet, ready for an amazing concept?  This is fucking life people. If you don’t actively work, every freakin day to make life good, if you just let life happen to you, yea it’s gonna suck.  Drop your pathetic woe is me attitude and get a grip on your life.  There is a saying in strength sports, control what you can control and let the rest happen.  Pretty amazing thought when you actually sit down to think about it, I know.

Frankly, I thought 2016 was pretty amazing.  I got out of the house, did things besides just work and pay bills and live in a gym.  I went on local adventures, hiking and camping. I  competed in United States Strongman Nationals, with an unknown-at-the-time injury.  Worked on my Jeep.  Rediscovered my passion for my art, drawing and painting.  Started home projects of repainting furniture.  Made the active decision to reduce the use of plastic grocery bags, by turning old t-shirts into totes and using stronger canvas totes for heavier grocery items…and been successful at actually using them.  Got out of my comfort zone and got into yoga, not just at home but into an actual yoga studio.  Worked on making myself a better person…Sure I had my set backs during the year.  But I didn’t blame life, I didn’t blame the calendar year.  Instead I mentally shook my fist at the universe and said you are not going to hold me back.  This too shall end.  I actively took little steps every day to be grateful for the life I have and to make it better each day; even if it was as small as repeatedly saying I was not going to let things affect my mood.  Even if I had to force a good mood/day.  The amazing thing?  When you constantly repeat something, it comes to pass.  So if you are walking around saying how horrible something is, it becomes horrible.; you can only blame yourself for your bad day.  Frankly it’s no big surprise if you get home and you’ve had a shitty day.

So what’s your excuse for life being so miserable and why 2016 was so horrible to you?  Because I disagree, 2016 was pretty awesome and I’m going to force 2017 to be as amazing.  I’ve already planned more adventures with friends and that’s only the beginning.

I’ve seen social media friends on Instagram (yes you, beesquiggle, imua513, kilo_charlie_ and bellajk924) posting pictures and I think…wow… YES that’s what I want to do, or be there… These are every day women, they have faced their own set backs this year but you don’t see whining bullshit on their pages.  Instead, you see a constant stream of getting out there and enjoying life.

Ok, so I don’t know three the women in real life, but I do know one, she happens to be basically my BFF and adventure buddy. On her vacation to Burma last month, when her WiFi was good, beesquiggle would send me messages talking about her day and the things she saw and experienced.  I couldn’t even tell you how many times I told her I wanted to go with her when she goes back….hell, I’m sure I only told her that about a third of the time I thought it.  It filled my heart with such warmth to hear her talk about the experiences and how beautiful the sights were.

Another one kilo_charlie_ , I know she is recovering from a serious surgery and she STILL isn’t whining about how shitty 2016 has been to her.  Instead, as soon as she was in a walking soft cast, the woman went out camping with just her dog.  She said to hell with it.  I’m going to do what makes me happy for my birthday, cast or not, and I’m gonna enjoy it with just my dog.  I exchanged messages with her when she got back and the warm glow of utter content that flowed from her messages made me happy for her and a slight glow of envy, like: I wanna do that too!!  I want to go camping, just me and my boys….

I’ve exchanged a few messages over the several years that imua513 and I have followed each other on Instagram.  The pics she shares with us, a life of adventure in the beautiful state of Hawaii….she makes me want to move there and take up surfing!

Then there is bellajk924, she makes me want to move to Colorado and go Jeepin with her!!  I definitely feel small twinges of envy with all her beautiful Jeep exploring pics…wow.

But I don’t look at any of these pictures and just move back on to some every day living without trying to enrich my own life.  So in another way, I could say that these every day ladies inspire me to make my own life as rich and as full.  They are not Instagram-famous, sponsored individuals with 3,000 followers.  They are totally down to earth women, who have decided to share their every day life with social media.

This doesn’t mean start posting that dumb meme about how you want to inspire people.  If your sole mission or reason for being on social media is to be an inspiration, well, frankly you’re a self centered, egotistical asshole.  Yes, it is flattering when someone tells you that, they think you are an inspiration and that they have tried something or started something new because of you, or maybe they have over come something…but if that is what your social media presents lives for, you are extremely shallow.  Get over yourself.

Hell, get over this whole notion of how bad 2016 supposedly was.  It wasn’t.  Every year is fucked up in it’s own way.  The difference is how you choose to perceive events and how you let them effect you.

Frankly, if this offends a few of you.  Wonderful.  It means you are exactly the ones I’m talking about.  Do something to change it, or are you so shallow that you think I’m the only one who thinks this?  Probably.  So I’ll take a line from one of your multiple posts, unfollow/unfriend me so that I can return the favor.  Your negativity is raining on my parade of a forced (blessed, rolling my eyes at you) good life.

 

-Inked Amazon 💋💀

 

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

