winter is coming

Winter has hit western Michigan like a speeding mac truck.

It’s 21 degrees (Fahrenheit) here in Grand Rapids on this very snow filled Saturday morning.  In fact, this is the warmest it has been all week and only the second time the sun has poked out to say hello….. It’s only December 17th, we’re in for a very snow filled winter if what they are saying is true.  The Great Lakes are extremely warm for this time of year, which only means the ‘lake effect snow’ will be bad. Layman’s terms for lake effect snow: we’re gonna get snow, how much is really anyone’s guess but be prepared to get clobbered.

2_18_14_andrew_greatlakeswideview

My neighbor, bless him, has run his snowblower over my sidewalks and driveway three times this week.  He has done this on heavy snow falls for the past 4 or 5 winters and my gratitude is endless; I try to bake a couple times for him and give him gas for the snowblower any time I stop at a gas station.  He saves me the headache of clearing a driveway that runs the length of my old house, I only have to clear a 15×10 foot area between my backyard fence and my garage.

One thing I forgot about the start of winter, how it can drain on the body.  It was a steady week at work and with the constant snow, by the end of my working day Friday I was so drained I could have fallen asleep at my desk.  I just wanted to get home to my pups and flannel pj pants with a sweatshirt.

Close to leaving for the day, I received a text message from my supervisor, “good job today, go enjoy a beer.”  Little things like this, my boss doesn’t even know what it means.  He has only been my immediate supervisor since May 1st, but the difference he has made in our office is tremendous. I’ll admit, I have been actively working on my own attitude, trying not to be as quick to respond to things that upset or bother me, trying not to let the little thing effect me as easily as they had in the past.  From my boss’s response, it sounds like I have been pretty successful and that makes me smile on the inside…and outside.

I decided early fall, as the days started to grow shorter, I was not going to let this fall be like years past.  I was not going to allow the change in seasons to creep in on me like a wet blanket.  I was going to actively work to keep my mood up and not stay hidden in the house like a hermit. I got a wild hair up my bumm, that I wanted to try snowshoeing… Now I have never done this before, I have never had any inclination to get involved in any winter sports in Michigan or any other snowy state.  In years past I have just hidden indoors and gripped about the cold.  Not this year.  This year I am going to change that.  Ok, so I still haven’t gone and purchased snowshoes, yet, but it’s going to happen.  Heck, last weekend was the first snow fall to hit us and actually stick.  Previous ones the ground was still way to warm for it to last more than a few hours.

I need more coffee, I must be insane, laughing, I’m telling myself I am going to try snowshoeing, love it and love being out in temps below thirty degrees.  Yep.  I’ve lost my marbles.  But I’m still smiling over the idea of this.  Something that still gets me out in nature, it may not be warm, green and leafy nature, but it’s just another form of her beauty and living in Michigan it almost feels like it should be considered some form of sacrilege, failing to get out and enjoy the beauty of winter.

Of course this is all said while I am sitting in my flannel pjs and old beat up thin sweatshirt drinking my coffee on my bed….. But it’s almost been a month since I was able to enjoy a hike, the last one being with my sister the Friday after Thanksgiving.  The idea of waiting until April when the snow has ended, well, that’s just no good.

I guess it’s time to go buy those snowshoes.

 

-Inked Amazon 💋💀

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

