Zombie Jesus day

Let me start by saying I do not celebrate Easter, Passover, Yom Kippur, or any other of these types…hell I don’t even celebrate Christmas, I think proof of that is the fact that I spent it solo snowshoeing.


To me, today is just another beautiful day that I woke up on the right side of the daises.  Usually, Easter in Michigan, it either snows or it’s pouring cold rain.  However, this year being the end of April and with a very weird winter followed by the early arrival of spring… I have two trees blooming their bright green leaves.  My lilies are several inches above the dirt and I fully expect to see their flowers in the next two, three weeks.  Last weekend it was a glorious mid seventy degrees, yesterday it was eighty.  These weekend temperatures keep up and I’m going to have o put in the ac window unit early.  Heck, I was able to pull my Jeep doors yesterday, in APRIL!!  I truly believe this is the earliest I have every been able to pull the doors.  Last year I may have gotten them off by the end of May, but most years it is the first or second weekend in June.  This weather is absolutely wonderful!!

Last month, month and a half, life has been a bit hectic, a bit stressful; but after last Sunday’s mental and physically cleansing; late that night I felt a bit of relief, ok actually a lot of relief, I felt a dark spot from my soul lift.  This week at work, I was able to get a week of vacation approved by my supervisor and I will be spending my birthday next month visiting my boyfriend… which, with everything going on at work, I am super excited to be able to get away in the midst of everything going on. Yesterday, pulling the doors off the Jeep, first thing in the morning, buying new luggage for my trip and running errands with a doorless Jeep at 80 degrees…its just good for the soul.  This morning I woke up to the smell of wet dirt from open windows and Nora Jones softly playing from the speaker in my bedroom.

This morning, this morning is a good morning, a very good morning…. There is just something about the full arrival of spring in the mitten state that is an absolute glorious feeling.  Even though our winter this year was no where near it’s normal abrasive brutality.  There is still something about the trees coming back to life, flowers growing and blooming, even seeing the first of the bees and bumble bees.  It makes my heart happy and fills my soul.

My “de-clutter project” is no where near the state I had hoped it would be by this time.  However the past three weekends I have made good progress.  Tackling the garage alone, was a huge step.  That was an almost all day project too.  Inside the house, I have taken to the theory of setting the kitchen timer for 30-45 minutes and just going after one room.  When the timer expires, I can stop, take a break or finish whatever I am on.  So far, this theory has worked better than any others I have attempted.  No, it doesn’t finalize that section or that room, not by a long shot.  What I have learned is that over the past seven years, I have been extremely good at organizing my physical baggage…which lets face facts, that translates to how well I have organized and hidden mental baggage.  By dealing with these physical things, I am efficiently decluttering and getting rid of the mental too.  It’s a good feeling, no, it’s a great and freeing feeling.

 

So now, it’s time to tackle another 30-45 minutes of the house; but first, more coffee…

Author: boxerjeep

I am a mid 30s pawrent to my babies Reese (boxer) and Grimm (pitbull). A tattooed Army veteran, yogi and strength athlete. My second loves after my pups are tattoos, my Jeep, random music, real books, ancient history, the outdoors and art.

Leave a Reply

